top of page

Our leadership consist of a diverse group who share an interest in Phoenix history. They bring a wide range of knowledge and experience in museum operations and historic preservation. They are committed to the mission and the vision  and continuous improvement of the PTM.

Board Members

John Mulhollen, President – John is a software engineer, most recently working in the area of voice applications in call centerscity. A lifetime member of both the National Model Railroad Association (NMRA) and the San Diego Model Railroad Museum. He was one of the driving forces behind the founding of the Belmont Shore Model Railroad Club (likely the first N scale club in the US), from which N-Trak was born. His interest in Trolleys started at a young age as a passenger an the last Pacific Electric trolley in Los Angeles, and continued as one of the first passengers when trolleys returned to Los Angeles 30 years later as MetroRail. An avid trolley fan, he was a member of the Orange Empire Railway Museum (now the Southern California Railway Museum), where he tirelessly worked laying track (among other efforts).


Michael Swaine, Vice-President – Mike is an Illustrator/Graphic Designer, with talents in design and web development. He is a past President of the Phoenix Art Directors Club and helped form Phx-AIGA when the two groups merged. Over his career as a designer he has helped well over a hundred non-profit groups with various projects, including a $20M campaign to form Young Life’s Lost Canyon Camp in Williams AZ. He is a former Board Member of the Rosson House Foundation and is still involved as a tour guide. 

Lanny Trapnell, Secretary – Lanny is a retired software developer, computer systems analyst, and technical writer. He has a lifelong interest in passenger transportation past, present, and future. This includes buses, trains, planes, and more. Although his “day jobs” were not in transportation, they provided lots of opportunities for transit research near and far.

Bob Graham, Interim Treasurer – Bob is an historical architect who has served on the Board since 2012. In his professional capacity, he has provided design and planning expertise to many museums around the state. In addition to his work with the Trolley Museum, he is President of the Grand Avenue Members Association, the neighborhood group that encompasses the museum’s property, and was founding President of the Grand Avenue Rail Project. He is a past chairman of the Phoenix Central City Village Planning Committee and currently serves on the city’s Design Review Committee. Bob is an avid devotee of the history of Phoenix, manifested in his leadership of the revived Phoenix Pioneer Band.

Matt Jewett, Board Member -  Matt has been involved with the Phoenix Trolley Museum (PTM) since 2015 and joined the board in 2023. Matt has worked in nonprofit grants and as an advocate for causes dear to his heart. He successfully wrote a grant to Arizona Humanities for PTM’s oral history project of those who remember riding Phoenix’s original streetcar system prior to 1948. Matt graduated from the University of Arizona with a degree in political science and studied graduate level public health at A.T. Still University. Matt enjoys cars, trolleys, and a good cup of tea.

Will Keller, Board Member – Will is a retired Naval Architect who worked in shipyards in Pennsylvania, Wisconsin and Michigan.  He was an active member of the Railways to Yesterday Museum at Rockhill Furnace, PA from 1970-1979, where he assisted in the acquisition and initial restoration of former York (PA) Railways car #163.   Will is a past President of the PTM. 

Jim McPherson, Board Member – Jim McPherson is a public affairs consultant and, in his free time, an advocate for historic preservation, community development and urban planning, and healthcare advocacy. He has authored two books on local history: one on Downtown Phoenix and the other on his hometown of Hartville, Ohio.



bottom of page